How It Feels to Catch a Rubber Chicken in Your Mouth

31 May

This is how I felt after discovering that my post Fun With Allergies! had been Freshly Pressed last Friday. I was going to try and describe it with words, but after trying for half an hour and not getting beyond it feels freakin’ great! I decided that a picture says a thousand words. See how this dog caught that rubber chicken? The triumph! The unparalleled joy! That chicken is a prize and it will be treasured!

Okay, in all seriousness, being Freshly Pressed last week was a really great writing-affirming experience. It was the second time my words have been featured on the WordPress homepage and I was no less thrilled or grateful. Like the last time, this Freshly Pressed post was a light, just-for-fun kind of thing. But to have someone (lots of someones!) identify with it and find the funny? That means a lot. 

As you may know, this came on the heels of a job letdown. I’ve been feeling a little lost. But if I can’t control the rest of the universe, at least I have power and the chance for ultimate expression in my own little blogging world. Here, apparently, I can be funny and my words can be touching. Here, my words have a life outside of my own head. (It’s good for them to socialize.)

Anyway, thanks for reading, subscribing, and commenting. (Speaking of comments–in the beginning, I wanted to respond to all of them. As more and more piled up, it became harder. Just so you know, I do read and appreciate every one….) I hope you’ll continue to read and comment and enjoy. 

Now, I’m off to toss toys at my dogs and see if any of them catches one and feels Freshly Pressed. 

12 Responses to “How It Feels to Catch a Rubber Chicken in Your Mouth”

  1. run4joy59 May 31, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    I really do need to schedule that eye exam…I couldn’t figure out how you got that picture of a cow jumping with a chicken in it’s mouth!! Congrats on being freshly pressed!!

    • Lilee May 31, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      LOL. I thought it was a cow too!

    • Oh My Words! June 2, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      A cow? Now, that WOULD be impressive! 🙂

  2. WobblyWords May 31, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Your words are quite the little socialites and I like em! Congrats on the second fresh pressing! Like last time, it makes me think of the laundry I need to do :\

    • Oh My Words! June 2, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

      Thanks Wobbly! 🙂 I have laundry to do, too…..but not right now. Can’t. Get. Up.

  3. Snoring Dog Studio May 31, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    You deserved it! Looking forward to more.

  4. ubi313 May 31, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Heh, you should also know you’ve gained another viewer from that fresh pressing. I went to that front page for some new blogs, and I didn’t really like most of them. I clicked on yours (your title “oh my words” had already drawn me well enough). I swear, I looked at the article, it’s pictures and caption, and had already laughed twice, and I hadn’t even read the article yet. It was pretty dang clever! Well written! And this post just confirms my liking. Well you’ve made my list, if that makes you at all satisfied. 🙂

    • Oh My Words! June 3, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

      It makes me VERY satisfied! Gleeful! Ecstatic! Excited!

      I could keep coming up with words all day, but I loved your comment and I love that you enjoy my blog 🙂

  5. Snaaks June 1, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    Enjoy the moment and keep writing and commenting on others blogs.

  6. My English Thoughts June 1, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    You deserved it, enjoy it and keep writing such great posts !

    • Oh My Words! June 2, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      that’s the plan, hopefully! Thanks for reading!

  7. ladystamper May 23, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    well I just found your blog through your pictures….great minds…..love your writing and I’ll be back! Good luck with that chicken…..

Leave a Reply

