If My Dogs Wrote Haikus

13 Apr

I’ve tried to train you
but still, you sit on my couch
No! Bad human! bad!

 

You smell like a dog.
You smell like another dog.
Scoundrel! Traitor! Slut!

 

I dream of running
of chasing squirrels and such
Wake me if you dare.

 

We’re out for a walk
Look! Here comes another dog.
My sidewalk! All mine!

 

You’ve been gone so long!
It’s been years and years and years.
Now, the world is right.


Noise! I hear a noise!

Do you hear it? Do you? Huh?
Why do you shush me? 

 

Don’t insult me, please.
That dog is just on t.v
I know that, you fool.

 

My bowl is empty.
Your plate is full of good food.
The universe sucks.

 

I have a big day.
Nap, bark, eat, play, nap, nap, nap
Whew! Workaholic!

15 Responses to “If My Dogs Wrote Haikus”

  1. marylisa April 13, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    What a great post. And what cute Yorkies!

    • Oh My Words! April 13, 2011 at 10:22 am #

      Thanks! Wow, you’ve got a good eye–you could tell they were Yorkies even in that dog pile, huh? 🙂

  2. Scriptor Obscura April 13, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Excellent haikus!
    So well written! 😀

    • Oh My Words! April 13, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Thanks! My dogs are very literary… 🙂

  3. run4joy59 April 13, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Exactly what your dog is saying, can’t you hear him?

  4. WobblyWords April 13, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    So cute!

  5. pattyabr April 13, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    love it

  6. Scriptor Obscura April 14, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    May I have your permission to reblog this post, with links and credits to you and your blog of course? If not, I understand. I just think that these haikus are so good that they should be shared and read by everyone! 🙂

    • Oh My Words! April 14, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      Sure you can reblog! I’m happy you liked the haikus! (The dogs are happy, too)

  7. raisingdaisy April 14, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    I love these haikus! So entertaining yet SO true!

  8. shreejacob April 14, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Brilliant! I can’t decide between the traitor, the fool or the workaholic!!

    I’ve always wondered how cool it would be to be a dog…with a good master / mistress of course. I mean, eat, poop, pee, bark and nap. Sigh!

  9. Joss April 15, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    these are awesome!

  10. scrambled7 April 17, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    Haha, I have a dog too. And that’s exactly how he feels too!
    Oh, and that was ADORABLE.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If My Dogs Wrote Haikus (via Oh My Words!) « Scriptor Obscura - April 14, 2011

    […] I’ve tried to train you but still, you sit on my couch No! Bad human! bad! You smell like a dog. You smell like another dog. Scoundrel! Traitor! Slut! I dream of running of chasing squirrels and such Wake me if you dare. We’re out for a walk Look! Here comes another dog. My sidewalk! All mine! You’ve been gone so long! Its been years and years and years. Now, the world is right. Noise! I hear a noise! Do you hear it? Do you? Huh? Why do … Read More […]

  2. What Are You, Chicken? « Oh My Words! - April 22, 2011

    […] is one of our dogs. She’s a talking dog and a haiku poet, but she’s also a wannabe huntress. She chases birds with all the gusto of a creature that […]

Leave a Reply

