Don’t Ask Me, I Can’t Talk About It

11 Apr

Something happened today, but I can’t tell you about it. I might jinx it. Apparently, I’m very superstitious when it comes to things like what happened today. I had to wear a ring from my grandma and a necklace from my aunt to the thing that happened today, with the theory that they’d act as comforting, powerful talismans. (Hey, just because I’m not a hobbit, doesn’t mean my life can’t be influenced by magical  jewelry.) I had to drink from my lucky cup–an oversize teacup with Monet’s Red Poppies at Argenteuil–before I went to the thing that happened today. But I couldn’t have coffee, because that would only mess with my nerves before the thing that happened today, so I had nice, hydrating water. I had to listen to You Make My Dreams, by Hall & Oates, and Michael Jackson’s Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough before going to the thing that happened today. That’s what I listened to the last time I went to something like what happened today, and it was really great pump-me-up, here-I-come music. Plus, these songs make me think of the funny Chris Tucker and a happy, sexually-satisfied Joseph Gordon Levitt. (If that sounds creepy, I beg you to extend your movie-watching to include Jackie Chan buddy flicks and indie films.)

I took the ferry boat to go to San Francisco, where the thing that happened today happened. I couldn’t sit backwards on the ferry, because it would be bad symbolism to go towards your potential future, backwards. (You can take the girl out of the English classes…) I had to sit on the right side of the boat, because on that side you can watch as the city by the bay gets closer and closer. Again…lucky symbolism. As the heroine of this story that is my life, I figure good symbolism can’t hurt. The thing that happened today might benefit from some symbolism–who knows?

Don’t ask me, because I can’t say any more about the thing that happened today. Maybe it had something to do with watched pots and boiling lives, maybe it didn’t. Maybe I’m DYING for a positive outcome, after the thing that happened today. Maybe I spent the whole ferry ride back thinking this-is-the-first-day-of-the-rest-of-your-life thoughts.

Maybe.

But I can’t talk about it.

14 Responses to “Don’t Ask Me, I Can’t Talk About It”

  1. Rediscovering Tina April 12, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Here’s to watching pots and riding forward in ferries. I hope you get it!

  2. lexy3587 April 12, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    I recognise this feeling – it’s the “if I acknowledge how I want this thing to go, or even acknowledge what it is, MURPHY will do his best to thwart me” feeling. Just don’t focus too much on this, he’ll know something’s up and go to investigate!

    • Oh My Words! April 13, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Would that be MURPHY, of Murphy’s Law? Because that is genius! I am so going to use that from now on!

      • lexy3587 April 13, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

        It would, indeed. The alternate version is that my neighbour’s cat is diabolical and out to get me…which would be both disturbing and kind of awesome.

  3. sychela April 12, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    I know exactly what you’re talking about – you have to tread very carefully when you’re trying to convince the universe to deliver something very important to you.

    • Oh My Words! April 13, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Yes, the universe is a tricky thing. I try to outsmart/worship it all the time 🙂

  4. pattyabr April 12, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I love Nancy Drew I should pick up one of those books again. Your secret is safe in the universe. Nancy will take care of it.

    • Oh My Words! April 13, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      I love Nancy Drew, too! We should both re-read–it’s been awhile for me, as well. And you’re right, I should trust in the universe and trust in Nancy 😀

  5. WobblyWords April 13, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Excellent, excellent! I am at once excited and tip-toe antsy about life 🙂 I’ll send out lots of good vibes in the universe and maybe speed up the good luck!

  6. shreejacob April 13, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    oh my God oh my words! I hope that the thing that happened that day made you happy!!

  7. trailertrashdeluxe April 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Except for your choice of “jobs/employment” as a category, I was thinking of something else, especially after reading your last paragraph. Whatever result you are hoping for, positive or negative, I hope that it works out right for you. You are so correct to be superstitious; I kept my mother alive and relatively unscathed till she was 94, simply by avoiding stepping on cracks.

    • Oh My Words! April 25, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

      Thanks! I really appreciate the encouragement. I’m definitely hoping for a positive outcome, so keep your fingers crossed!

      Oh, and wasn’t your mother lucky to have such a thoughtful kid! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, For Pete’s Sake « Oh My Words! - May 26, 2011

    […] I got some bad news about that thing that happened a few weeks ago. Now that the universe doesn’t depend on my silence, I think it’s safe to […]

Leave a Reply

