“I Have Just Met You and I Love You”

10 Mar

"As soon as that shutter clicks, I'm attacking."

Short post today, but I hope you’ll agree that in this case, a collection of cute puppy pictures is worth a thousand words (or at least a couple hundred). When I read that the floating house from Pixar’s Up had been recreated by National Geographic and flown across California’s High Desert, I was tickled pink. Up is one of my favorite Pixar movies, so I love the idea that its iconic, fantastic flying house could become a reality. (As a person with a severe math phobia, I’m also really impressed that these people were able to do the calculations required to pull this off.) Apparently, to stick to the movie’s premise, the recreated house even contained two human riders and a dog! (No word on whether the dog was asked if he wanted to float 10,000 feet in the air.)

Part of the reason that movie is so much fun is its talking dog Dug. I can watch that scene where he first appears over and over because the actor who voices Dug and the writers who created him got a dog’s personality so spot-on. “My name is Dug and I have just met you and I love you!”

So, in honor of this imagination-come-to-life moment, I decided to recreate Up in a different way.  I give you: talking dogs. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

14 Responses to ““I Have Just Met You and I Love You””

  1. shreejacob March 10, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Awwwwwwwwwwww…I love dogs!!!!

    Are these yours?? So adorable! Please give them a squishy hug each from me!! 🙂

    • Oh My Words! March 10, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      Yes, they’re all mine! (Or I guess I should say they’re all my family’s dogs.) I will certainly give them squishy hugs (the best kind!) from you 🙂

  2. belleofthecarnival March 10, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    So sweet!

  3. run4joy59 March 10, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    aww…what cuties!!

  4. pattyabr March 10, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    adorable

  5. Anneloes March 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    They’re the cutest!

  6. idiosyncraticeye March 11, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    Recognised those words straightaway! I think that’s so cool that someone decided to recreate the Up! house, no one ever asks the animal’s opinion – that’s why they sent a chimp to the moon. Maybe it’s just as well sometimes that they can’t talk. Hmmm. 🙂

    • Oh My Words! March 11, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      My dogs definitely wouldn’t sign up for a high-flying adventure so yeah, maybe the National Geo people should be glad the dog couldn’t voice any reluctance

      Also–it makes me happy that you recognized that quote 😀

  7. Ash March 11, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Those pictures made me laugh so much. I had a bad day and this made me smile! I really liked the “I can’t have a blog?” one.

    • Oh My Words! March 11, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

      I’m so glad I could help your bad day! (I guess I should give the dogs credit, too…) I was feeling guilty for doing such a short (and easy) post yesterday but if it made you smile then it’s all good 🙂

  8. Mei March 12, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Hahahaha! I loved it! Don’t worry about the length, it was funny, fabulous, and said everything it needed to 🙂

  9. Musings of a Mad Molly June 3, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    Such cuties <3.

    I will (hopefully) soon be putting up photos of my doggie up, if I can get it to work. How do you manage to put photos up, with captions, and in the place you want them to be? Im finding it really difficult to work this out, so I come to you begging for help.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Are You, Chicken? « Oh My Words! - April 22, 2011

    […] is one of our dogs. She’s a talking dog and a haiku poet, but she’s also a wannabe huntress. She chases birds with all the gusto of a […]

Leave a Reply

