Here Goes Something

1 Aug

No more excuses. I’ve been talking about starting a blog for months now but was comfortable citing various major life events and everyday happenings to justify the gigantic delay. Going all the way back to the spring, I was working on Comps, my college’s senior thesis requirements, and told myself  that I couldn’t possibly write a blog when I was busy communing with Toni Morrison’s Song of Solomon. When that was done, I of course deserved a break. Write a blog? When I just finished writing that big paper? Hmmmm. So tempting.

Later, there was G-day: Graduation. Blogging brought up the rear on my list of priorities. After, The NYU Summer Publishing Institute came and went–along with an arguably perfect opportunity to blog about a great experience. Throw in a family crisis and a dentist appointment, and you should have the gist of what I’ve come to think of as the Blog Evasion Evolution. Along the way, I’ve been reading other people’s blogs. (And it’s true that everyone has a blog. They’re not just for humans anymore, either.) The unfortunate result was that instead of being inspired, I was intimdated. Oh, not by the too-much-information blogs, or pitiful celebrity blogs, or dog blogs. It was the blogs by people like me–recent grads, aspiring writers, unimpressively unemployed–that did it.

But tonight I was talking to my friend Ali (who has heard the “I’m gonna start a blog” speech several times and thus deserves, at the very least, a shout-out) and for the first time there were no more cop-outs. Which is not to say that my life, at this moment, is stress-free and swimming with free time. But I can’t keep waiting for blog time. Normally, I religiously follow the wise words of Ellen Degeneres: “Procrastination is not the problem. It is the solution.” Amen, Ellen. But I’ve decided that it’s time to take the plunge, rip the bandaid off. A little cliche, yes, but metaphors that express pain and discomfort seem oddly appropriate.

So here I am, giving the damn blinking cursor the finger and trying not to automatically go to the backspace button after finishing a sentence. I’m not entirely sure what I’m doing or where this is headed but aren’t those the best statements to make right before an adventure?

2 Responses to “Here Goes Something”

  1. Earthianne March 6, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    Hello, I like reading a blogger’s maiden issue. My very first, less than a year ago – signing up with WordPress, finishing my 1st draft, uploading and pressing the publish button – I remember feeling good. Ok, it’s just me being sentimental, still attached to my very first blog, even calling it a “classic”, lol.

    May you continue blogging for a very long time. 🙂

  2. Oh My Words! March 6, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Yes, the first post was very scary and exciting, wasn’t it? I like reading bloggers’ first writings too, gives you an idea of evolution and where they’re coming from. It’s nice you took an interest in mine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

