It’s Funny, ‘Cause It’s True

6 May

Words I’ve heard lately…

Little boy selling lemonade to raise money for his school:
“Help inspire me to be a good person!”

Electrician on the phone, trying to get a new part for our stove:
“I need a plug. Plug. Plug! P-l-a-g! Plug!”

X-ray technician at the doctor’s office:
“Your grandmother will need to remove all clothing from the waist up. Is she wearing…is she, uh…is she strapped…um….bra?”

Starbucks customer:
“I’d like something that will get me through ’til the end of the day….grande…and non fat milk.”

 Neighbor children playing in their yard:
“Boom! Boom! You’re dead!”
“Mom said we couldn’t kill each other! I’m not dead!”
“Boom! Boom! You’re fired!”

Man in the grocery store, talking on his cell phone:
“Can’t you pick him up? I’m at the grocery store right now. Yes, shopping! What do you mean? Well, so far–beer. What? We were out of beer!”

Cheerful mailwoman:
“Congratulations, you’ve got mail!”

HAPPY FRIDAY!

9 Responses to “It’s Funny, ‘Cause It’s True”

  1. Seasweetie May 6, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Love it! Thanks for the pre-weekend smile.

  2. Jessica May 6, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Love it, definitely a good pick-me-up for a sloooow Friday afternoon.

  3. Rediscovering Tina May 7, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    I definitely think “The Donald” should use “Bang! Bang! You’re fired!” on Celebrity Apprentice this week!

    • Oh My Words! May 9, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      me too! Although, then I would insist he pay me for my (overheard) words…

  4. idiosyncraticeye May 9, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    The things you hear!

    Three ‘children’ playing pirates on a climbing frame:

    26 year old child: I’ll just help the fair maiden up the ladder

    4 year old child: What, her?
    ;)

  5. WobblyWords May 11, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Haha! I think the man in the grocery store was by brother in law :) and I LOVE the neighbor kids playing!

  6. My English Thoughts May 29, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    I love it ! Do you have some more? ;)

    • Oh My Words! May 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      You bet! Stay tuned for more funny (and true!) words from the world…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

